Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 15th, 2009

tickets

I don’t recall where I came across this idea, but it’s always been one of my favorite Sphere of Influence touches. Here’s the idea:

Buy a pair of tickets to a local event. It could be a ball game, a play, a concert or something along those lines. Now, it’ll be in your best interest to buy tickets to something you’d enjoy going to yourself. You’ll find out why in a second.

So, you have these tickets. Now, wait until just a few hours before the event starts. Then start calling throught your key database contacts. Here’s how the script goes:

“Dave…hey it’s Chris. Listen, I know this is super last minute, but I have tickets to the (fill in event) tonight and I don’t think I can use them. I thought you might enjoy going with Jane. Maybe make a date night of it.”

Given that it’s kind of last-minute, your odds are pretty decent that most people won’t be able to go. But they’ll appreciate the heck out of your offer. If someone takes you up on them, well then they won’t soon forget it so mission accomplished. If you can’t find any takers, you have tickets to the event and you’ve still scored big with as many of your key contacts as you were able to call through.

Now, get those tickets and get on the horn!

Read Full Post »